0800 Don Nelson (0800 366635) 09 486 4698

House of The Year


House of the Year 3

Winning the Supreme Award in the Master Builder House of the Year competition was a reflection of the quality of the Don Nelson design and the depth of the detailing specified. Designed by Don Nelson Architecture, the luxury home shown here was called by the judges – a home of exceptional craftsmanship with astonishing attention to detail. They praised it as an outstanding example of all aspects of construction and design. The laminated totara timber handrails and facings, curved stairway and waved walls give this home a timeless and subtle blend of contemporary and classic style. A well-deserved winner of the New Zealand Master Builders National Supreme Award.

Click to take the House of the Year Video Tour.

Awards 2Awards 3

The sweeping porte cochere is lined with cedar and incorporates skylights to lighten the entrance. Accents of timber and schist add visual warmth to the front façade. A large circular skylight and curving walls ensure this grand entrance is light, spacious and airy – with strategically placed lighting accentuating the home’s sweeping curves.

nelson002            Awards 1

Kitchen and family room feature curved glass windows that provide views from all angles.  Smartwood joinery was used throughout the home. Attention to detail ensured this new home designed by Don Nelson, was an award winner.  Free-flowing curves, wide loggias and substantial façade enhance this beachfront property.  Pohutukawa trees frame the building, and the Hauraki Gulf provides an idyllic backdrop.  Designed with New Zealand’s relaxed family-oriented lifestyle in mind.

House of the Year 8

House of the Year 9

House of the Year 7

Symington 3

So if you require the services of an architectural designer for new home designs and home renovations in New Zealand, contact Don Nelson Architecture (Home renovation & new home design architecture New Zealand) on 09 486 4698, email us at info@donnelson.co.nz or complete our enquiry form.

Award Winning Architecture – New Zealand – Auckland – Hawkes Bay – Taupo – Wellington